Best CTR ever…

October 30, 2008

Google ad serving solution was praised to be the most successful advertising model in the age of Internet. Google Adwords made online advertising available for everybody, despite of the budget. It’s easy to use and it’s really working. However, not too much people ask himself or herself the question how do these Google algorithms serving sponsored results work. It doesn’t really matter for most of the users, until system malfunctions.

It’s usually really hard to observe the performance of each click if you get thousands of impressions every day. Weird things started to happen when I consolidated my Google Adwords budgets and started spending money more wisely, watching each click and continuously monitoring the performance of my online campaigns. I’ve got one case, which made me think about ad serving system malfunction few weeks back.


Lets call it The best CTR (click-through rate) ever.

If you have your ads out there, you’d definitely like to know how they are performing. That’s exactly what CTR is for. A lot of online marketing guides will teach you how to get a 5% click-through rate. What about 200%? You say impossible? Just take a look at the screenshot.

Google adwords screenshot

Google ad serving solution malfunction

That’s funny. However, what I’m really concerned about is that you never know how often does it happen. I was lucky enough to catch it right away. If I had gotten just one more impression, I wouldn’t be able to see that happening. So, the question is if the CTR you get is real and how often does this kind of malfunction happen.

I was witnessing one more case like that few months back. It was really funny when I’ve got 1 click having 0 impressions. Unfortunately, I didn’t make a screenshot then.

I’m not trying to be an Adwords antievangelist. I do like Google Adwords because I work a lot with it. I don’t think they try to charge for more than they deliver. Even more, I didn’t want to post this message, waiting for adjustment for a click quality that never showed up. I just wonder how many other bugs are there in their ad serving algorithms…

Leave a Reply

